This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: ACBSP News

ACBSP Recognizes Business Faculty Who Exemplify Excellence in Teaching

Monday, June 4, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Giles Rafol


ACBSP Recognizes Business Faculty Who Exemplify Excellence in Teaching



Melinda Dorning

Overland Park, KS (June 4, 2012) –The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP),, is proud to announce the regional recipients of the 2012 ACBSP Teaching Excellence Award. These individuals have been selected from among associate and baccalaureate/graduate degree colleges and universities from each of the 10 regions that comprise the membership of ACBSP.

Teaching Excellence Award Recipients — Associate Degree

Arthur J. Braza— Three Rivers Community College (Conn.) — Northeastern Council (ACBSP Region 1)

Regina Shea— Community College of Baltimore County (Md.) — Eastern Council (ACBSP Region 2)

Mary Hollars — Vincennes University (Ind.) — Great Lakes Council (ACBSP Region 4)

Susan Courtney, PhD— Kansas City Kansas Community College (Ks.) — Midwestern Council (ACBSP Region 5)

Don Gren, PhD— Salt Lake Community College (Utah) — Western Council (ACBSP Region 7)

Shankar Subramani, PhD— HCT Dubai Women’s College (UAE) — International Council (ACBSP Region 8)


Teaching Excellence Award Recipient — Baccalaureate/Graduate Degree

Ana Figueroa-Papaleo — Universidad del Este, Carolina (Puerto Rico) — Northeastern Council (ACBSP Region 1)

Diane Galbraith, PhD— Slippery Rock University, Slippery Rock (Pa.) — Eastern Council (ACBSP Region 2)

Wayne Bedford, PhD — The University of West Alabama (Al.) — Southeastern Council (ACBSP Region 3)

Patricia Abels, PhD— The University of Findlay (Ohio) — Great Lakes Council (ACBSP Region 4)

Allison Hoffmann— Northwest Missouri State University (Mo.) — Midwestern Council (ACBSP Region 5)

Lawrence Silver, PhD— Southeastern Oklahoma State University (Okla.) — Southwestern Council (ACBSP Region 6)

Kimberly Hogelucht, PhD— Point Loma Nazarene University (Calif.) — Western Council (ACBSP Region 7)

Marjan Bojadziev, PhD— University American College Skopje (Macedonia) — International Council (ACBSP Region 8)

Francisco Gerardo Barroso Tanoira, PhD— Universidad Anáhuac Mayab (Mexico) — Latin American Council (ACBSP Region 9)

B. V. Krishnamurthy, PhD— Ramaiah Institute of Management Studies (India) — South Asia Council (ACBSP Region 10)

Two International Teaching Excellence Award winners will be selected from among the regional recipients – one from an associate degree-granting institution and one from a baccalaureate/graduate degree-granting institution. This announcement will be made at a special Salute to Regions Luncheon on Sunday, June 17, during the 2012 ACBSP Annual Conference in Baltimore.

ACBSP recognizes the significance of the classroom teacher to the mission of degree-granting institutions. It is for this reason that the Associate Degree Commission of ACBSP established the International Teaching Excellence Award in 1995 to recognize outstanding classroom teachers. In 2002, the Baccalaureate Degree Commission created a similar award to recognize excellence in teaching at the baccalaureate degree level. ACBSP is the only specialized accrediting body for business schools that presents an award recognizing excellence in teaching.

"It is more important than ever for business programs to produce graduates who are ready to enter the global marketplace,” said Douglas Viehland, ACBSP executive director. "ACBSP has a mission to develop, promote and recognize best practices that contribute to continuous improvement of business education. Recognition of teaching excellence is one way we achieve this goal,” he stated.


ACBSP’s mission is to promote continuous improvement and recognize excellence in the accreditation of business education programs around the world. ACBSP is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) as a specialized accreditation agency for business education. ACBSP currently has 1,051 member campuses, 154 of which are located outside of the U.S. Of those campuses, 541 have achieved accreditation and more than 488 are in candidacy for accreditation. Individual members on these campuses now exceed 9,700.