This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
News & Press: ACBSP News

Universidad Autonoma de Aguascalientes Becomes First Univ. in Mexico to Achieve ACBSP Accreditation

Thursday, December 20, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Melinda Dorning


Melinda Dorning




Universidad Autonoma de Aguascalientes Becomes the First University in Mexico to Achieve Specialized Business Accreditation Through ACBSP


OVERLAND PARK, KS, USA (December 20, 2012)The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP),, has granted initial accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation to 15 colleges and universities this fall, including Universidad Autonoma de Aguascalientes, the first university in Mexico to achieve specialized business accreditation.

"We congratulate Universidad Autonoma de Aguascalientes as they become the first university in Mexico to achieve ACBSP accreditation of their business programs. They join a growing number ofschools in Latin America that are using the ACBSP standards and criteria to document and advance academic quality,” said Steve Parscale, ACBSP Director of Accreditation.

The ACBSP Baccalaureate/Graduate Degree Board of Commissioners and Associate Degree Board of Commissioners meet twice a year in Kansas City, MO, USA, to review the quality and integrity of business degree programs at colleges and universities seeking ACBSP accreditation.

In November, the two Boards granted initial accreditation to the business programs at the following colleges and universities:

• Lindenwood University – Lindenwood College for Individualized Education (St. Charles, MO)

• Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania (Lock Haven, PA)

• Luzerne County Community College (Nanticoke, PA)

• Metropolitan College of New York (New York, NY)

• Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA), and

• Universidad Autonoma de Aguascalientes (Mexico)

Colleges and universities initially accredited by ACBSP must undergo a process of reaffirmation every 10 years in order to maintain accredited status. The two Boards granted reaffirmation of accreditation to:

• Aiken Technical College (Aiken, SC)

• Central New Mexico Community College (Albuquerque, NM)

• Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas (DeQueen, AR)

• Denmark Technical College (Denmark, SC)

• Mountwest Community & Technical College (Huntington, WV)

• University of South Carolina – Lancaster (Lancaster, SC)

• Cardinal Stritch University (Milwaukee, WI)

• Harris-Stowe State University (St. Louis, MO)

• University of North Alabama (Florence, AL)

"These campuses have shown their commitment to teaching excellence and to the process of quality improvement by participating in the accreditation process. The initial accreditation and reaffirmation of accreditation granted to these institutions shows their commitment to provide the highest quality business education for their students," said Steve Parscale, ACBSP director of accreditation.

ACBSP accredits business, accounting, and business-related programs at the associate, baccalaureate, master, and doctorate degree levels worldwide.


ACBSP’s mission is to promote continuous improvement and recognize excellence in the accreditation of business education programs around the world. ACBSP is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA )as a specialized accreditation agency for business education. ACBSP currently has 1,134 member campuses, 167 of which are located outside of the U.S. Of those campuses, 572 have achieved accreditation and more than 485 are in candidacy for accreditation. Individual members on these campuses now exceed 10,000.